Bird Series and Own Your Own

 

 

The Own Your Own Art Show has is in its 45th year at the Sangre de Cristo art Center.  This is my 13th year in the show.  The show features affordable fine art pieces meant for gift giving.  There is a general limit of three hundred dollars to all the work in the show which keeps it very shopper friendly.  The show has earned a wonderful following among the local and regional community.

In all my past years I have been in the show with my former husband, so for this year I wanted to bring a representation of my newer sculptural work, including the paint surface that has come to identify my work.  To fit this I chose the birds that have been the other body of work I have focused on for the past year.

The making process for these was simplified to accommodate the price limits.  The bodies are simple coil built forms with slabs added for wings and beaks.  Decoration is incised marks and a pierced heart on the chest.  There were 11 made for the show, with the large ones priced at $250.00, medium at $135.00 and small birds at $95.00.

Opening night was November 16th and was quite successful.  I sold one large and two medium pieces.  Being a gallery show I will take the typical 60% of the sales.

On the down side of the gallery arrangement was the loss of my favorite pieces due to breakage.  Rather than make a claim to the insurance I chose to pull the piece from the inventory sheet and see if it could be successfully repaired.

The other major down side of gallery work for me is the deadline pressure that has been a solid sprint since March.  In the chaos of the delivery deadline I failed to get any photos of the group until many had been sold.  A lesson I hope I inly have to learn once.

 

Leave a comment