Transition day

IMG_2829IMG_2842

 

Today was a busy day that had me focused on all three installations for the workshop.  I started this morning with fresh documentation of the horses on the iron panels.  We had some rain last evening and the south side of the coral changed significantly.  The first pic was take when the clay was still wet from the rain and the full shot was from this morning after it had a chance to dry out.  I love the changes to the images.  The rain drops have given the piece a feeling of great age that I would love to preserve.  I have considered many possible techniques but may also just let the rain have its way.  i do want the images to be a part of the documentation for the next work and so do not want to loose them entirely, I will continue to look at the issue through the coming week.

IMG_2853 IMG_2854

I did begin the next piece, by taking delivery of a couple hundred pounds of unrefined brick clay.  For the second installation of the workshop I will stay in my coral for a simulacra.  I am planning to use the environment that already exists and build a large free standing horse.  I pan to build an internal frame and cover that in wire and cobb the surface with a mix of the brick clay and straw.  The piece is a complete unknown as I have never done several of the proposed steps for the piece.  Likely this means it will evolve a great deal as I get into the work and find my limits, time being chief among them.  I hope to have this piece finished this week.

IMG_2855

 

Finally I moved my main work of the workshop off the drawing board and into clay sketch mode.  This piece is based off the  Snake Mountain toy that was part of the He-Man Masters of the Universe toys form the 1980’s and 90’s.  I have been obsessed with making play sets since May and am finally ready to give this a try.  I lack almost every critical element to this including the all important narrative rules for the world but I am willing to let them evolve as the piece does.  I have the scale, which is driven by my tiny kiln and I understand my plans for installation which will be 30 second commercials for you tube.  Stay tuned…this might be fun.

Leave a Reply

