Monster Stories

This piece was the first of the series that I call the monsters.  This work revolves around a story that is added to as the pieces are built.  In this blog I hope to work out the details of this story.  This piece was based on my best friend and his wife and their wonderfully close relationship.  It was after they were made but not yet finished that I considered they might be something more.

Originally I thought of them as busts.  On closer consideration and with the beginning of the next pair I began to think of them as complete creatures.  Humans, after some cataclysmic change that took our hands thus our ablity to make things.  What we see that remains is their relationships.

Most of the monsters are presented as pairs or groups of threes.  Revolving the work around relationships has given it an urgency for me as my own long marriage has dissolved.   Dancing the line with biography in the work has been important so that it does not become tied to a moment in my life but can still carry the urgency of real experience.  I have found looking outside my own concerns and thinking about the relationships of others very helpful in this.

This work makes its gallery debut next month.  At the opening I am planning to have the creation story of the monsters finished to read.  I’ll continue to work that out here in my blog

Leave a Reply

