The first day of the rest of your life?

Hi.  Im Kate Fox, this blog is to document my life and work as an artist-graduate student also to document the life of my studio and students.

I am a ceramic artist in residence at the Sangre de Cristo Arts and Conference Center in Pueblo Colorado and a graduate student in my first semester at Fort Hays State University in Kansas.

I have been a professional working artist for 15 years and been in my residency for almost 10 years.  In that time my work has evolved from primarily wheel thrown functional pottery to figurative sculpture and sculpted tile.

Teaching is also an important part of my discipline as an artist.  My students range in age from three years to seniors and I teach both hand building and the wheel.  I find teaching to be both a challenge and an incredible inspiration to my own work

Personally my life is changing in every way.  New school, new apartment, new living arrangements… Change is the rule to be sure.  How will these changes impact my work and how will art inform my life?  these things too will be a part of the discovery of this record and exploration.

Leave a Reply

